The Board of Education

The North Branford Board of Education consists of seven members elected to serve, without compensation. The Board members serve at-large and following election, officers are selected for Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary.

The Board is charged with specific roles and responsibilities by state and federal statute. It sets policy for the school district and implements those policies through building and district administration.

Some of the main roles of the Board are as follows:

Employment of the Superintendent Legislative or Policymaking Educational & Strategic Planning Financial Resource – Budget Process School Facilities Communications with the Public

Board of Education Members

Shawna Holzer - Board Chair sholzer@northbranfordschools.org11/11/2025

Marcey Onofrio - Vice Chair marceyonofrio@northbranfordschools.org11/11/2025

Elizabeth Siena - Secretary esiena@northbranfordschools.org11/11/2025

Jana Balsamo - Member jbalsamo@northbranfordschools.org11/14/2023

Zac Canada - Member zcanada@northbranfordschools.org11/11/2025

Kim Dawson - Member kdawson@northbranfordschools.org11/14/2023

Victoria Lanza - Member vlanza@northbranfordschools.org11/14/2023